Jazz Blues and Ragtime for Violin published by Boosey and Hawkes

Jazz Blues and Ragtime for Violin published by Boosey and Hawkes

Online Price:  £12.83
Normal Price:  £13.50
Saving Of:  5%
Earn 12 Loyalty Points

Quantity Discount Available

Order any 10 or more items and receive an extra 5% discount!

Order any 25 or more items and receive an extra 10% discount!

These additional discounts coupled with our great site-wide reduction of 5% means you could be saving up to 15% on your order today!

Jazz Blues and Ragtime for Violin published by Boosey and Hawkes

Click to view returns policyClick to view delivery informationwe accept these cards

  Tell a Friend   Continue Shopping

ISBN:  9790060095221
Composer:  Huws Jones
Publisher:  Boosey and Hawkes
Edition:  M060095221

Jazz Blues and Ragtime for Violin published by Boosey and Hawkes

Includes Piano Accompaniment

Most violinists long to play jazz - and then get left on the sidelines as the clarinets, trumpets or guitars boogie away. Yet the violin has always had a role in jazz, with its own virtuoso exponents like Joe Venuti, Stuff Smith and Stephane Grappelli. This collection of jazz, blues and ragtime standards includes some favourite melodies like "Take Five", "The Entertainer", "House of the Rising Sun" and "Makin' Whoopee" arranged for violin. A flexible format and extra optional parts makes these ideal for solos, duets, or a larger folk band. The full range of traditional fiddle repertoire is now at your fingertips! Using these generous collections, you can create your own ceilidh, barn dance, jazz club, Sarajevo street-café or Gypsy gathering. Some of this music is familiar, some more exotic, but all of it is absolutely authentic, faithfully arranged and, above all, hugely enjoyable. Each title in the series is available in two formats: the violin edition (with an optional easy violin part and guitar chord); or the complete edition, which also includes both keyboard and violin accompaniments. Either format is hugely flexible, which means the music can be played as solos, duets or trios as well as with larger ensembles. Edward Huws Jones has travelled extensively researching fiddle-playing traditions. In each book he explains the background of the particular musical style, giving his own suggestions for a lively performance. And to help recreate the spirit of the music, every book in the series is beautifully illustrated.

Frankie and Johnny
Good Morning Blues
House of the Rising Sun
Lullaby of Birdland
Makin' Whoopee
Number Twelve Train
Paragon Rag
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
Take Five
The Entertainer
The Fascinator
Tuxedo Junction

Customer Reviews

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!